Paint and Coatings Industry Webinars

Back to Archive Webinars

Using SSPC-PA 2 Effectively

This webinar is archived and recorded from a live presentation on Wednesday, July 19, 2017.
Cost: FREE

To view this webinar recording, please sign in or register


DeFelsko Inspection Instruments

DeFelsko is a leading U.S. manufacturer of inspection instruments including the PosiTector series of interchangeable probes for measuring coating thickness, profile, environmental conditions, salt contamination, Shore hardness and wall thickness.

Products include the PosiTector 6000 series of coating thickness gages, the PosiTector SST Soluble Salt Tester for measuring soluble salt contamination using the Bresle method, the PosiTest LPD Low voltage Pinhole Detector for detecting holidays, discontinuities and other flaws in coatings, and the PosiTector SHD Shore Hardness Durometer for measuring the hardness of pipe wraps, plastics, rubbers and more. Visit to get assistance selecting the optimal instrument for your application.

This webinar summarizes and explains the key highlights of SSPC PA 2: Measurement of Dry Coating Thickness with Magnetic Gages. Items discussed will be: verification of the accuracy of a DFT magnetic gage; measurement of the DFT of a coating with Type 1 or Type 2 gage; and how to implement the procedure to determine if the film thickness in a given area conforms to the maximum and minimum levels specified. Participants will be eligible to receive credit from SSPC.


Bill Corbett, Chief Operations Officer
KTA-Tator, Inc.

Bill is the Chief Operations Officer for KTA-Tator Inc. (KTA), where he has been employed for 38 years. He holds an AD in Business Administration from Robert Morris University. He is an SSPC Certified Protective Coating Specialist, an SSPC Level 3 Certified Protective Coatings Inspector and a Level 2 Certified Bridge Coatings Inspector, as well as a NACE Level 3 Certified Coatings Inspector. He is an approved training course instructor for both SSPC and KTA. He received SSPC’s Coating Education Award in 2006, the John D. Keane Award of Merit in 2011 and the President’s Lecture Series Award in 2017. He is the Chair of the SSPC Dry Film Thickness Committee and Chair of the SSPC Education and Certification Committee. He is also a member of ASTM Subcommittees D01.23 and D01.46.

Downloadable File:
(right-click and choose 'Save Target As' to download; all downloads are copyright of their author.)