BASF Chairman, New Board Members Assume Roles

FRIDAY, APRIL 26, 2024

On Thursday (April 25), global chemical company BASF officially appointed Dr. Markus Kamieth as the new Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors during the company’s Annual Shareholders’ Meeting.

At the ceremony, located at Rosengarten Congress Center in Mannheim, Germany, former chairman Dr. Martin Brudermüller presented his successor with a cycling jersey printed with the BASF logo to celebrate his new position.

BASF initially decided at the end of last year that Kamieth would take over as Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors of BASF SE. News of the appointment was joined by several other management changes to BASF’s Board of Executive Directors for 2024.

BASF stated that Kamieth has been a member of the Board of Executive Directors since 2017 and would succeed Brudermüller, who was Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors since 2018 and member of the Board of Executive Directors since 2006.

“Martin Brudermüller has led BASF with courage and foresight since 2018. He has steered BASF through exceptionally challenging times with strong leadership and made important strategic decisions for the long-term success of the company. This includes in particular the focus on the transformation of BASF towards climate neutrality,” said Dr. Kurt Bock, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of BASF SE.

“The Supervisory Board thanks Martin Brudermüller for his outstanding achievements. With Markus Kamieth, we have a highly competent and experienced successor, who has achieved excellent results for BASF during his diverse professional positions in Germany, the United States and Asia. He combines strategic vision with operational implementation strength and will provide new impulses to the businesses and teams at BASF.”

Additionally, the board appointed Anup Kothari, current President of the Nutrition & Health division, to the Board of Executive Directors effective March 1. Anup Kothari began his career at BASF in North America and has since held several positions in the United States, Germany and China in different divisions.

BASF also placed Dr. Katja Scharpwinkel on the Board of Executive Directors, in addition to appointing him as Industrial Relations Director, which was effective Feb. 1. Previously, Scharpwinkel was president of the Europe, Middle East, Africa region.

In 2010, she joined BASF following the acquisition of the former Cognis and has successfully led various businesses since that time. Scharpwinkel will succeed Dr. Melanie Maas-Brunner, who informed the Supervisory Board that she would not extend her current contract, which ran until Jan. 31.

“The Supervisory Board regrets the wish of Melanie Maas-Brunner, which developed over a longer period of time, to pursue new professional challenges. We thank her sincerely for her achievements,” said Bock.

Finally, the board extended the contract of Michael Heinz, a current member of the Board of Executive Directors of BASF SE, until the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting in 2026.

Heinz has reportedly been a member of the Board of Executive Directors since 2011, and is responsible for the Agricultural Solutions, Nutrition & Health and Care Chemicals divisions as well as the North America and South America regions.

“The Supervisory Board congratulates Katja Scharpwinkel and Anup Kothari on their appointments. They bring broad and relevant experience to the Board. The new team is highly qualified and has all the prerequisites to successfully shape the future development of BASF. The Supervisory Board is looking forward to the future cooperation,” Bock said.


Tagged categories: Asia Pacific; BASF; Business management; Business matters; Business operations; EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa); Industry News; Latin America; North America; Personnel; Program/Project Management; Z-Continents

Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.