WJTA Presents 2023 Pioneer Award


Earlier this month, the WaterJet Technology Association presented the 2023 Pioneer Award to Terry Gromes Sr., President of waterjet technology company Terydon, Inc., at the association’s Conference & Expo in New Orleans.

According to the WJTA’s release, the award is the association’s highest honor and is given to members for their contributions to the waterjet industry and for reaching goals set forth by the WJTA.

WJTA states that the award is meant to recognize Gromes’ contributions to the industry and his career in developing innovative waterjetting solutions to advance safety, efficiency and hands-free automation technology.

The award also reportedly acknowledges the recipient’s “high moral character and strong personal and business ethics,” as well as their dedication to the growth of WJTA.

Additionally, at the conference, the 2023 Safety Award was reportedly presented to Frank G. Romito of tool manufacturing company StoneAge, Inc., in recognition of his contributions to the WJTA training and certification program and industry safety.

WJTA’s Safety Award is meant to honor individuals or organizations who have introduced new and innovative ideas to safety in the waterjet industry.

Two 2023 Service Awards were also awarded, with one going to Kent Maddie of water blasting equipment company Advanced Pressure Systems in recognition of his many years of service and support to the industry.

The second award was presented to Bill Shires of StoneAge, Inc., in recognition of his contributions in the industrial cleaning community, as well as for advising on safe practices and hands-free technology.

The WJTA Service Award reportedly honors individuals or organizations who have contributed time and talent toward improving the industry or aiding the WJTA.

Finally, the 2023 Technology Award was presented to global manufacturer and designer of hydrodemolition technology Aquajet Systems AB, for their application of waterjet technology in concrete removal.

More specifically, the award was given to Aquajet for its novel systems for controlling the movement of the lance. CEO Roger Simonsson reportedly accepted the award on behalf of Aquajet Systems.

The Technology Award is reportedly meant for those who have introduced new and innovative ideas in engineering or manufacturing for the waterjet industry.

2023 WJTA Conference & Expo

In June, the WJTA announced preparations for the association’s conference while also celebrating the association's 40th anniversary.

Following last year’s event, which was the first in-person conference since 2019, the 2023 annual tradeshow and biennial technical conference was held at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans from Oct. 30 to Nov. 1.

It was reportedly the association’s last annual tradeshow and technical conference, as they will now move to an every-two-year pattern, with the full event held in odd-numbered years.

The WJTA Conference & Expo reportedly served the global hydroblasting, vacuum truck, industrial cleaning and waterjet markets, as well as provided an opportunity for the industry's leaders to connect, learn, discuss industry trends and see the latest technology.

Notable highlights in the schedule included:

  • Waterjet Technology Basics and Beyond Short Course;
  • Boot Camp Education Sessions;
  • Asset Owner Educational Track;
  • Panel Discussions;
  • Live Demos;
  • Awards Ceremony; and
  • Industry Appreciation Reception.

Tagged categories: Aquajet; Asia Pacific; Associations; Awards and honors; Business matters; Business operations; Conferences; EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa); Latin America; North America; Program/Project Management; Safety equipment; StoneAge, Inc.; Surface preparation; Terydon, Inc.; Tools; WaterJet Technology Association; Waterjetting; Z-Continents

Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.