NASF Announces 2022 Industry Award Winners


The National Association for Surface Finishing recently announced via emailed press release the winners of the 2022 NASF Industry Awards at this year’s SUR/FIN conference. According to the association, each year NASF recognizes strong leaders who have dedicated their time and resources to the Surface Finishing Industry.

The 2022 NASF SUR/FIN Manufacturing and Technology Trade Show and Conference was hosted June 7-9 at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, Illinois. The event is the primary conference and trade show dedicated specifically to the surface technology industry were companies can connect, collaborate and contribute.

NASF Industry Awards Winners

This year, there were four recipients of the Awards of Merit, which are given to individuals that demonstrate outstanding service of a local and/or national nature at the affiliate and branch level, as well as their devotion to the industry. The awards were presented to Jon Kilbarger, Dynapower Company LLC; Kevin Pludeman, Cornerstone Systems Inc.; Stephanie Witt, Advanced Plating Technologies; and Steffen Wolkerstorfer, Wolkerstorfer Company, Inc.

NASF reports that Kilbarger has always been at the forefront of new ideas in the surface finishing industry whether it be new technology, chemical process or equipment. Pludeman, who serves the Chicago Midwest Chapter of NASF, has reportedly been an asset to the chapter by saving them time and money by providing AV equipment for all their events.

Witt, who serves her local chapter board as an advisor and officer, has also taken on the role of gathering and tracking state policy meetings regarding PFAS regulations and requirements, communicating the latest trends and best practices affecting the surface finishing industry.

Finally, Wolkerstorfer has served on NASF’s board of directors for over four years and currently serves as secretary/treasurer for the EC. She has worked to increase involvement in the Washington Forum to further her local chapter.

The Taormina Award, one of NASF’s most prestigious awards, is presented to an individual who has performed outstanding service to the finishing industry. This year’s winner is Milton F. Stevenson IV of Anoplate Corporation, who has dedicated over 50 years to the industry.

According to the association, Stevenson has impacted NASF at the chapter level by giving his time and talents through board and committee service throughout his years of service. Currently, he serves as a member of the NASF Government Action Committee, playing large role at the annual NASF Leadership Conference by mentoring the next generation of industry leaders.

NASF also awarded the Scientific Achievement Award to Steve Gaydos, Boeing Research and Technology. This award recognizes a person who has contributed to the advancement of the theory and practice of electroplating, metal finishing, and the allied arts; raised the quality of processes and products; enhanced the dignity and status of the profession; or has been involved in a combination of these efforts.

Gaydos, who spent the first decade of his career working in corrosion prevention issues in the petrochemical industry and metal finishing in the aluminum industry, joined Boeing as a materials and process engineer before retiring in June 2020. He is an executive board member of NASF and serves as a member of the NASF Technical Advisory Committee and AESF Foundation Research Board.


Tagged categories: Associations; Awards and honors; Conferences; Industry News; NA; National Association for Surface Finishing; North America; Program/Project Management; Surface Preparation; Surface preparation

Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.