AIA Announces 2021 COTE Awards


The American Institute of Architects Committee on the Environment announced its COTE Top 10 Awards late last week. The awards recognized projects for their significant achievements in advancing climate action.

“For the past 25 years, COTE has bestowed the award annually on 10 design projects that have expertly integrated design excellence with cutting-edge performance in 10 key areas,” the AIA noted in a press release. “The COTE Top Ten projects illustrate the solutions architects provide for the health and welfare of our communities and planet.”

In order to be eligible, project submissions were required to demonstrate alignment with COTE’s criteria, which include social, economic and ecological values. The five-member jury evaluated each project submission based on the effectiveness of their holistic design solution and metrics associated with the ten measures.

This year’s COTE Top 10 Awards recipients are as follows:

  • Arizona State University Hayden Library Reinvention, Tempe, Arizona | Ayers Saint Gross;
  • Civitas, Memphis, Tennessee | archimania;
  • Lafayette College Rockwell Integrated Sciences Center, Easton, Pennsylvania | Payette;
  • Market One, Des Moines, Iowa | Neumann Monson Architects;
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology | MIT.nano, Cambridge, Massachusetts | HGA;
  • Microsoft Silicon Valley Campus, Mountain View, California | WRNS Studio;
  • Rainier Beach Clinic, Seattle | Mahlum Architects;
  • Ryerson University Daphne Cockwell Health Sciences Complex, Toronto | Perkins & Will;
  • The Kendeda Building for Innovative Sustainable Design, Atlanta | Lord Aeck Sargent in collaboration with The Miller Hull Partnership; and
  • University of Washington, Life Sciences Building, Seattle | Perkins & Will.

In addition to the Top 10 Awards, COTE and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture have selected the COTE Top 10 for Students, honoring exceptional student design projects showcasing innovation in sustainability.

This year’s Top 10 student awards went to:

  • Direction - Morgan Weber and Robert Conway - The Catholic University of America;
  • Low Carbon Architecture: New Approach Toward Sustainability in Relation to Existing Buildings - Mahsa Hedayati - Virginia Tech;
  • Growing Together Under One Roof - Daniel Mecca and Thalia Jimenez Escobar - Clemson University;
  • Tupikhaq - Paola Araya-Valdes, Juliette Paget and Victoria Deslandes-Lyon - Université Laval;
  • The Step - Samuel Nordmeyer and Cody Goedken - Iowa State University;
  • Fairmount School of Art and Ecology - Andriani Sugianto - California Baptist University;
  • Undefined Boundaries - Ana Astiazaran - University of Arizona;
  • Nags Head Coastal Discovery Museum - Ryan Cooper - North Carolina State University;
  • Nuuttuq - Caroline Roux, Guillaume Couture and Rosemonde Gadoury Salvail - Université Laval; and
  • Urban Mutualism – A Mushroom Farm in a Factory - Edda Steingrimsdottir and Jonathan Ng - Harvard University.

Tagged categories: American Institute of Architects; American Institute of Architects (AIA); Awards and honors; Good Technical Practice; NA; North America

Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.