RIBA Announces New Fire Safety Plan


The Royal Institute of British Architects has launched a consultation on its new Plan of Work for Fire Safety in response to the government review following London’s fatal Grenfell Tower fire in June 2017.

The Plan

“Following the devastating fire at Grenfell Tower in June 2017, the RIBA has consistently called for changes to building regulations including the strengthening of requirements on cladding, sprinklers and means of escape, and clarification on the responsibilities of those who design, construct and manage buildings,” the organization said in a statement.

Dame Judith Hackitt’s “Independent Review of Building Regulations and Fire Safety” called for “greater transparency, accountability and collaboration” from the industry. RIBA says that its plan answers that demand.

The plan includes a “Best Practice Process Map,” which can be downloaded, that details the roles, responsibilities and deliverables for fire safety and each stage of a building’s lifecycle.

The document contains categories for the cycles: Strategic Definition, Preparation and Brief, Concept Design, Developed Design, Technical Design, Construction, Handover and Closeout, and In Use. It also details different decision-making groups such as the construction team, design team, client team and statutory bodies.

“The Plan of Work for Fire Safety is a vital resource for design and construction teams and building owners, providing much needed clarity on fire safety roles and responsibilities at every stage of the process,” said RIBA Director of Practice Lucy Carmichael.

“We cannot wait for longer-term regulatory change to come into force; the construction industry needs immediate guidance. I encourage all RIBA members and other industry professionals to provide detailed feedback on this draft document, which we hope will be an important step to further strengthen consideration of fire safety in all aspects of building design, procurement, construction and maintenance.”

The draft document is open for consultation until Oct. 15.


Tagged categories: Certifications and standards; EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa); Fire; Good Technical Practice; Regulations

Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.