Concrete Institute Names President, VP


Michael J. Schneider of Baker Concrete Construction (Monroe, OH) has been elected president of the American Concrete Institute for 2016-17, the organization has announced. In addition, David A. Lange is beginning his two-year term as ACI vice president.

The ACI made the announcements at the Concrete Convention and Exposition this month in Milwaukee. The organization also named four new members of its board of directors, and announced Khaled Walid Awad’s new title, senior vice president.

Schneider an ACI Vet

Schneider, who serves as senior vice president and chief people officer at Baker Concrete, is a 38-year veteran of the industry. He was named fellow of the ACI in 2006. Fellows are nominated by ACI members based on longstanding ACI membership and outstanding contributions to the field.

Schneider received the ACI Roger H. Corbetta Concrete Constructor Award in 2011. He currently serves as chairman of the National Steering Committee for the Construction Industry Management Program. Prior to his election as president, he served as ACI’s senior vice president.

Schneider succeeds Sharon L. Wood, dean of the Cockrell School of Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, as president.

David A. Lange will serve two years as ACI vice president.

Vice Presidents

David A. Lange, the Institute’s new vice president, is a professor of civil and environmental engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he has served on the faculty since 1992. He is a fellow of the ACI and of the American Ceramic Society.

In 2003, Lange won the ACI Wason Medal for most meritorious paper.

Lange will serve two years as vice president.

Khaled Walid Awad now becomes senior vice president.

Khaled Walid Awad was elected vice president of the ACI in 2015, and now becomes senior vice president with Schneider’s vacation of his position. Awad is chairman and founder of ACTS, a material and geotechnical consulting firm out of Beirut, Lebanon.

Awad’s tenure as vice president ends in spring 2017.

New Directors

The ACI’s four new directors are:

  • Frances T. Griffith, associate director of the Center for Training Transportation Professionals at the University of Arkansas;
  • R. Doug Hooton, professor of concrete durability and sustainability at the University of Toronto;
  • Neven Krstulovic-Opara, engineering associate with ExxonMobil; and
  • Antonio Nanni, chair of the department of civil, architectural and environmental engineering at the University of Miami, in Florida.

Members of the board of directors serve three-year terms.

The American Concrete Institute was founded in 1904, and claims nearly 20,000 members in over 120 countries.


Tagged categories: American Concrete Institute; Asia Pacific; Associations; Building Envelope; concrete; EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa); Latin America; North America

Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.