Coatings Industry News

Main News Page

ACI Declares Fellowship and Scholarship Recipients

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Comment | More

The American Concrete Institute Foundation recently announced the winners of its 2019-20 fellowship and scholarship programs.

All fellowship recipients received between $10,000 and $15,000 in educational stipends, paid travel expenses and attendance fees for two ACI conventions, in addition to support in finding an industry mentor.

All scholarship recipients received a $5,000 educational stipend.

Couresty of ACI Foundation

The American Concrete Institute Foundation recently announced the winners of its 2019-20 fellowship and scholarship programs.

In order to qualify, candidates had to be a college graduate or undergraduate enrolled in a concrete-related degree program.

This year’s winners for the 2019-20 fellowships are:

  • Barbara S. and W. Calvin McCall Carolinas Fellowship: Ross Newsome, University of North Carolina-Charlotte;
  • Daniel W. Falconer Memorial Fellowship: Edvard Bruun, Princeton University;
  • Don Marks Memorial Fellowship: Alec Derks, Saint Louis University;
  • Elmer Baker Fellowship: Christopher Bick, University of Cincinnati;
  • ACI Presidents' Fellowship: Alvaro Ruiz Emparanza, University of Miami;
  • Richard D. Stehly Memorial Fellowship: Joseph DiBucci, Pennsylvania College of Technology;
  • Baker Student Fellowship: Aaron Elliott, Pittsburg State University;
  • Baker Student Fellowship: Ivy Thibodeaux, University of Louisiana-Lafayette;
  • Tribute to the Founders Fellowship: Hope Hall, Oklahoma State University;
  • Darrell F. Elliott Louisiana Fellowship: Anne O’Donnell, University of Notre Dame; and
  • Middle Eastern Fellowship: Nancy Kachouh, United Arab Emirates University.

This year’s winners for the 2019-20 scholarships are:

  • ACI Scholarship: Muhammad Faizon Qureshi, University of Toronto;
  • ACI Scholarship: Jahanzaib, University of Toronto;
  • Bertold E. Weinberg Scholarship: Anthony P. Becerril, Purdue University;
  • Katharine & Bryant Mather Scholarship: Aaron Miller, Georgia Institute of Technology;
  • Schwing America Scholarship: Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology;
  • Stewart C. Watson Memorial Scholarship: Hosam Sennah, Ryerson University;
  • W. Gene Corley Memorial Scholarship: Joshua Tomczak, University of Minnesota-Duluth; and
  • Richard D. Stehly Memorial Scholarship: David Orense, University of Florida.

Since 2012, the ACI Foundation has awarded more than $500,000 to more than 60 students from fellowships alone. Applications for the 2020-21 fellowships and scholarships will open in July 2019.


Tagged categories: American Concrete Institute; American Concrete Institute; Colleges and Universities; concrete; Good Technical Practice; NA; North America; PaintSquare App - Commercial; Scholarships

Comment Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.

Sauereisen, Inc.


Axxiom Manufacturing

KTA-Tator, Inc. - Corporate Office

Western Technology Inc.


Technology Publishing Co., 1501 Reedsdale Street, Suite 2008, Pittsburgh, PA 15233

TEL 1-412-431-8300  • FAX  1-412-431-5428  •  EMAIL

The Technology Publishing Network

PaintSquare the Journal of Protective Coatings & Linings Paint BidTracker

EXPLORE:      JPCL   |   PaintSquare News   |   Interact   |   Buying Guides   |   Webinars   |   Resources   |   Classifieds
REGISTER AND SUBSCRIBE:      Free PaintSquare Registration   |   Subscribe to JPCL   |   Subscribe to PaintSquare News
MORE:      About   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Support   |   Site Map   |   Search   |   Contact Us