Coatings Industry News

Main News Page

SSPC Announces Board Election Results

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Comment | More

SSPC: The Society for Protective Coatings has announced the results of its 2017 Board of Governors election, adding one new member to the board and recognizing the re-election of another.

Don Holle, vice president and quality system manager for Ahbe & Svoboda Inc., was elected to the board in the Coating Contractor demographic. Ahbe & Svoboda is an SSPC QP1, QP2 and QS1-certified contractor specializing primarily in infrastructure coatings and repair projects.

Holle takes the seat previously held by former board president James King, of John B. Conomos Inc. King will take the role of ex-officio for two years, according to SSPC, so that he may complete his work on various financial committees.

Kranker Re-Elected; Officer Succession

Re-elected to the board was Jay Kranker, of Aggreko-North America, in the Other Product Supplier category. This will be Kranker’s second term on the Board of Governors; Aggreko-North America is a supplier of moisture-control and temperature-control equipment, including dehumidifiers, air conditioners, compressors and generators.

SSPC Board officers

Only July 1, (from left) Brian Skerry of The Sherwin-Williams Company becomes SSPC Board of Governors president. Garry Manous, of Atsalis Bros. Painting Inc., becomes president-elect, and Joe Walker, of Elcometer, will serve as vice president.

As of July 1, Brian Skerry, global technical director, Sherwin-Williams Protective and Marine Coatings, will take over as president of the Board of Governors. Skerry, who has been with Sherwin-Williams for 33 years, joined the SSPC board in 2011. He is an adjunct professor in the coatings and polymeric materials program at North Dakota State University, and obtained a Ph.D. in corrosion science from the University of Manchester.

Garry Manous, of Atsalis Bros. Painting, will be president-elect; Joe Walker, of Elcometer, will serve as vice president, and current board president Gunnar Ackx, of SCICON Worldwide, will become immediate past-president.

About the Board

The SSPC Board of Governors consists of 13 elected members, a non-voting secretary and treasurer, and ex-officio members.

Members of the Board of Governors serve four-year terms, and are generally limited to two terms unless required to stay on longer due to officer responsibilities.

SSPC is the only non-profit association that is focused on the protection and preservation of concrete, steel and other industrial and marine structures and surfaces through the use of high-performance protective, marine and industrial coatings.


Tagged categories: Abhe & Svoboda; Aggreko; Asia Pacific; Atsalis Brothers Painting; Brian Skerry; Elcometer; EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa); Gunnar Ackx; Latin America; North America; Program/Project Management; Sherwin-Williams; SSPC; SSPC Board of Governors

Comment Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.

HoldTight Solutions Inc.

Paint BidTracker

Modern Safety Techniques

Sauereisen, Inc.

Strand’s Industrial Coatings

Tarps manufacturing, Inc.

NLB Corporation


Technology Publishing Co., 1501 Reedsdale Street, Suite 2008, Pittsburgh, PA 15233

TEL 1-412-431-8300  • FAX  1-412-431-5428  •  EMAIL

The Technology Publishing Network

PaintSquare the Journal of Protective Coatings & Linings Paint BidTracker

EXPLORE:      JPCL   |   PaintSquare News   |   Interact   |   Buying Guides   |   Webinars   |   Resources   |   Classifieds
REGISTER AND SUBSCRIBE:      Free PaintSquare Registration   |   Subscribe to JPCL   |   Subscribe to PaintSquare News
MORE:      About   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Support   |   Site Map   |   Search   |   Contact Us