Restoring a Gilded Age Icon

From JPCL, August 2016

By Pamela Jerome, Carl Rothbart and Rose Scott Long,
Architectural Preservation Studio, PC

The Breakers (1895) is the “crown jewel” of the historic Great House museums owned by the Preservation Society of Newport County. A series of restoration projects aim to repair damage from exposure and recapture the building’s original appearance....

(Login to read the full article)

Tagged categories: Building facades; Documentation; flashing; Historic Preservation; Historic Structures; Maintenance + Renovation; Masonry; Masonry waterproofing; Preservation Society of Newport County; Restoration; Waterproofing membranes

Comment from Catherine Brooks of Eco-Strip, (8/12/2016, 4:19 PM)

It's great to see that ALL the 352 windows and 39 glazed doors were restored and not replaced.

Comment Join the Conversation:

Sign in to our community to add your comments.

Western Technology Inc.


KTA-Tator, Inc. - Corporate Office

Sauereisen, Inc.

Axxiom Manufacturing


Abrasives Inc.

HoldTight Solutions Inc.


Technology Publishing Co., 1501 Reedsdale Street, Suite 2008, Pittsburgh, PA 15233

TEL 1-412-431-8300  • FAX  1-412-431-5428  •  EMAIL

The Technology Publishing Network

PaintSquare the Journal of Protective Coatings & Linings Paint BidTracker

EXPLORE:      JPCL   |   PaintSquare News   |   Interact   |   Buying Guides   |   Webinars   |   Resources   |   Classifieds
REGISTER AND SUBSCRIBE:      Free PaintSquare Registration   |   Subscribe to JPCL   |   Subscribe to PaintSquare News
MORE:      About   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Support   |   Site Map   |   Search   |   Contact Us