PaintSquare.com


The First Word in Protective & Marine Coatings

A Product of Technology Publishing / PaintSquare
JPCL | PaintSquare News | Durability + Design | Paint BidTracker

Region: Europe

| More

Daily Quiz (51)

All content matching this tag

True or false: A dilatant paint is said to be thixotropic.

Monday, October 20, 2014


True or false: Coatings based on silicone resins have little resistance to chalking.

Thursday, October 16, 2014


True or false: Surface profile on steel can be measured in the field.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014


True or false: Osmotic blisters are likely to be filled with liquids that contain solvents or salts.

Monday, October 13, 2014


In what country was the first large-scale application of zinc-rich coatings?

Friday, October 10, 2014


What level of voltage does a wet sponge holiday detector employ?

Monday, October 6, 2014


True or false: Power tool cleaning is effective in removing soluble salts from a steel substrate.

Friday, October 3, 2014


True or false: Siloxane sealers are normally applied to concrete substrates in film thicknesses of two to three mils.

Thursday, October 2, 2014


True or false: Coatings that form a film by coalescence are two-component materials.

Monday, September 29, 2014


True or false: Inorganic zinc-rich coatings, left untopcoated, decrease in barrier protection over time.

Friday, September 26, 2014


True or false: PVDF resins can be emulsified in water to create a single-component, ambient-cured, fluoropolymer coating.

Thursday, September 25, 2014


True or false: SSPC’s technology update on overcoating says that failure by delamination is a minor risk.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014


What kind of concrete sealers penetrate the pores of the concrete and form little, if any, film build?

Monday, September 22, 2014


Micaceous iron oxide is a pigment providing what kind of properties to protective coatings among the choices listed?

Friday, September 19, 2014


True or false: To be effective, a seal coat over a thermal-sprayed zinc coating must be applied after a significant amount of natural oxidation has occurred.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014


True or false: Some moisture meters for concrete are based on AC impedance.

Friday, September 12, 2014


True or false: An inorganic zinc-rich primer can be topcoated as soon as it is dry.

Thursday, September 11, 2014


True or false: According to a recent JPCL article, application of silicone foul-release coatings presents numerous problems that need to be overcome.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014


What kind of corrosion is caused by the formation and collapse of bubbles?

Thursday, September 4, 2014


True or false: A polysiloxane is an aliphatic polyurea.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014


True or false: Calcium aluminate mortars are sometimes used as linings for rehabilitation of manholes.

Friday, August 29, 2014


True or false: It is easier to remove coal tar epoxy than coal tar enamel from a steel substrate.

Thursday, August 28, 2014


True or false: A black light test can detect certain oil films on a bare steel substrate.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014


True or false: There are both pneumatic and electric remote controls for air abrasive blast systems.

Monday, August 25, 2014


True or false: A polyaspartic coating is an aliphatic polyurea.

Thursday, August 21, 2014


Certain machine guns, like the old Thompson sub-machine gun, are called chopper guns. What is a chopper gun in coatings work?

Wednesday, August 20, 2014


True or false: According to a recent JPCL article, foul-release hull coatings can be divided into hard and soft technologies.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014


True or false: Inorganic zinc-rich primers should be topcoated as soon as they appear to be dry.

Friday, August 15, 2014


True or false: Non-osmotic blisters can develop in coatings on concrete floors.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014


True or false: The greater the permeability of a coating on concrete, the more effectively it will perform.

Tuesday, August 12, 2014


What mechanism of corrosion protection does zinc phosphate provide to coatings?

Monday, August 11, 2014


True or false: Plastic shrinkage cracking of concrete can occur during the first few hours after placement.

Friday, August 1, 2014


True or false: Some alkyd formulations will not undergo saponification if applied to high-pH substrates.

Thursday, July 31, 2014


True or false: The Maritime Environment Protection Committee (MEPC) is a committee of the United Nations.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014


What is a common term for osmotic blistering of coatings due to thermal gradients?

Friday, July 25, 2014


True or false: Certain coating types can saponify on galvanized surfaces with elevated alkalinity.

Wednesday, July 23, 2014


If coatings were removed before abrading a concrete floor slab to conduct the ASTM anhydrous calcium chloride test, how much time must elapse between grinding and conducting the test?

Friday, July 18, 2014


True or false: Abrasive particle size, shape, and hardness all have an impact on the creation of surface profile.

Tuesday, July 8, 2014


Ammonium polyphosphate is most likely to be found in what type of coating?

Monday, July 7, 2014


What do HUNKOR and CEFRACOR have in common?

Thursday, July 3, 2014


Which one of the following organizations does not train and certify coating inspectors?

Wednesday, July 2, 2014


True or false: An ASTM subcommittee is working on a proposed standard to test the slip-coefficient properties of coatings used in slip-critical bolted connections.

Monday, June 30, 2014


True or false: Abrasive blast particles in an air abrasive blast system using a venture nozzle can achieve speeds of 450 mph or higher.

Friday, June 27, 2014


True or false: OSHA’s work practice controls to minimize exposure to hazardous materials, such as toxic dust, can include, in most instances, job rotation.

Wednesday, June 25, 2014


What organization developed a standard for measuring concrete surface profile with replica putty?

Tuesday, June 24, 2014


What organization publishes the Standard for the Preparation of Steel Substrates for PSPC?

Monday, June 23, 2014


What is the relationship between a discontinuity and a holiday in a coating?

Friday, June 20, 2014


Among the various types of anti-foulings for ships, what are foul-release coatings?

Tuesday, June 17, 2014


Which method of blasting produces the least blast debris, presuming the same substrate in the same condition is being cleaned by each method?

Friday, June 13, 2014


What kind of test was developed by Frederick Knoop and colleagues?

Thursday, June 12, 2014


What SSPC/NACE blast cleaning standard is equivalent to Sa 2, Thorough Blast Cleaning, in ISO 8501-1?

Tuesday, June 10, 2014


**Commercial white papers, product videos, and other sponsored documents posted on this site are paid content from third-party companies; inclusion and posting on this site does not imply an endorsement nor recommendation of the content by Technology Publishing/PaintSquare. By signing in and viewing or downloading this paid content, you agree to make your name and full contact information available to the sponsor of the content.

   

DeHumidification Technologies
HUMIDITY PROBLEMS?

DH Tech has the most innovative and reliable equipment available to
control humidity efficiently
and effectively.
IT'S UNDER CONTROL!


Fischer Technology Inc.
MP0R with rotating display screen

View your coating thickness readings from any angle with rotating display screen. New graphic display with easy menu navigation. Click for Video
Call 800-243-8417


KTA-Tator, Inc. - Corporate Office
KTA-TATOR LABORATORY SERVICES

• Coating failure analysis
• Independent
  comparative testing
• Accelerated
  weathering testing
• Toxic metals testing
• A2LA Accredited
800-245-6379


Novatek Corporation
Dustless Coatings Removal

Strip it, clean it, and profile it,
all dust free! High production
rates and Blast like finishes.
Comply with new lead
standards.


U.S. Zinc

The proven corrosion protection properties of our zinc dust prolong the life of marine coatings. U.S. Zinc – Helping the world work™


Absolute Equipment/Grand Rental Station
Portable Power from Absolute Equipment

•Compressors
•Lighting Systems
•Generators
•Light Compaction
Sales • Rental • Service
Call 1-866-931-6655
Over a century of
providing excellence.


Corrosion Probe, Inc.
From Detection to Correction

Corrosion Probe, Inc. has the Most Concrete Coatings Experience and Expertise. Contact us today at
860-767-4402, www.cpiengineering.com

 
Technology Publishing

The Technology Publishing Network

The Journal of Protective Coatings & Linings (JPCL) PaintSquare
Durability + Design Paint BidTracker JPCL Europe

 
EXPLORE:      JPCL   |   PaintSquare News   |   Interact   |   Buying Guides   |   Webinars   |   Resources   |   Classifieds
REGISTER AND SUBSCRIBE:      Free PaintSquare Registration   |   Subscribe to JPCL   |   Subscribe to PaintSquare News
MORE:      About PaintSquare.com   |   Privacy policy   |   Terms & conditions   |   Site Map   |   Search   |   Contact Us
 

© Copyright 2000-2014, Technology Publishing / PaintSquare, All rights reserved
2100 Wharton Street, Suite 310, Pittsburgh PA 15203-1951; Tel 1-412-431-8300; Fax 1-412-431-5428; E-mail webmaster@paintsquare.com