PaintSquare.com
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on LinkedIn Like us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram Visit the TPC Store
Search the site

 

Advertisement

PaintSquare



Previous Quizzes


Thursday, September 21, 2017
True or false: “International Orange” is the official name for the color of paint used on the Golden Gate Bridge.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017
What is an example of an engineering control, according to OSHA, during cleaning or painting operations in an enclosed space?

Tuesday, September 19, 2017
True or false: In ASTM’s standard on test methods for field measurement of surface profile, the use of a comparator is described.

Saturday, September 16, 2017
In how many countries, not including the U.S., does SSPC have chapters?

Friday, September 15, 2017
True or false: Carbon blacks are prime pigments.

Thursday, September 14, 2017
True or false: ASTM has a specification for silicone coatings used over spray polyurethane foam roofing.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017
True or false: According to ASTM, a pinhole in a coating extends entirely through the applied film.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
SSPC has one PCCP/QP standard that is jointly issued with what other organization?

Monday, September 11, 2017
True or false: Mineral paints have very little permeability.

Friday, September 8, 2017
What is something common to both a baby and paint when its surface tension is greater than the surface tension of the substrate?

Thursday, September 7, 2017
Respirators must be approved by what agency?

Wednesday, September 6, 2017
True or False: According to NIOSH, use of personal protective equipment is the least desirable in the hierarchy of hazard controls.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017
True or false: Inorganic zinc coatings are very resistant to strong acids.

Friday, September 1, 2017
True or false: Photographic standards from the International Concrete Repair Institute (ICRI) can be used to judge the degree of surface profile on concrete.

Thursday, August 31, 2017
Concrete can be bruised by what surface preparation method?

Wednesday, August 30, 2017
An oil-modified polyurethane is sometimes called by what name?

Tuesday, August 29, 2017
True or false: ASTM has one test method to determine the pull-off adhesion of coatings for both steel and concrete substrates.

Monday, August 28, 2017
True or false: Polyester resins are sometimes used as binders for mortars and concretes.

Friday, August 25, 2017
What association in the U.S. now deals with the science and technology of formulating and making paint?

Thursday, August 24, 2017
Where do many toxic and oxygen-displacing gases accumulate in confined spaces?

Wednesday, August 23, 2017
True or false: The Shipbuilding Group in the U.S. is comprised of the Shipbuilders Council of America and the Naval Research Laboratory.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017
According to ASTM, what is the function of a fire-retardant coating?

Monday, August 21, 2017
True or false: Some intumescent coatings can require up to 100 days to apply.

Friday, August 18, 2017
True or false: According to a recent JPCL article, freshly applied thermal spray aluminum is close in appearance to steel newly blasted to white metal.

Thursday, August 17, 2017
When you add exempt solvents as thinners to a high solids coating, what happens to the VOC content?

Wednesday, August 16, 2017
What is another term sometimes used for underfilm corrosion?

Tuesday, August 15, 2017
SSPC issued a new performance specification last month for what paint type?

Monday, August 14, 2017
True or false: In a sieve analysis of abrasives, the sieve number describes the number of openings in a linear inch of sieve mesh.

Friday, August 11, 2017
True or false: A water glass is an implement for drinking, but water glass has another definition relevant to coatings.

Thursday, August 10, 2017
True or false: Unheated material introduced into a plural component spray system can shock the system, creating cold patches in the pumps and hoses and potentially throwing the system off ratio.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017
True or false: The use of copper in antifouling coatings has been approved in Europe through 2026.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017
How do SSPC wet abrasive blasting standards determine the degree of flash rusting after wet abrasive blasting?

Monday, August 7, 2017
True or false: A recent decision by a state supreme court has established that companies are not liable if members of an employee’s household are sickened by secondhand asbestos exposure.

Friday, August 4, 2017
“Simply put, we aim to decipher the fundamental mechanisms that cause corrosion so that we can combat it more effectively in the future.” So said a researcher at the University of Manchester about a new project partially funded by what oil company?

Thursday, August 3, 2017
What generic coating type has been tested by the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory and shown to resist corrosion while at the same time improving ballistic protection of armored amphibious assault vehicles?

Wednesday, August 2, 2017
True or false: Non-woven abrasive pads are a form of coated abrasive.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017
OSHA has developed how many sets of regulations on abrasive blasting?

Monday, July 31, 2017
Which of the following is not the subject of an SSPC Qualification Procedure (QP)?

Friday, July 28, 2017
For the most part, lattice-type transmission towers are painted with what application tool?

Thursday, July 27, 2017
True or False: Ion exchange pigments are typically used in anti-corrosion coatings.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017
In a live poll conducted at the Plenary Session of the recent European Coatings Show, what future coatings technology area was cited as the most significant?

Tuesday, July 25, 2017
True or false: Australia has a painting contractor certification program similar to the one overseen by the SSPC in the U.S.

Monday, July 24, 2017
Which of the following organizations has standards for selecting and using concrete repair materials?

Friday, July 21, 2017
How do thermoplastic coatings cure?

Thursday, July 20, 2017
True or false: A European coating supplier has bristle blasting standards that are said to be equivalent to power tool cleaning standards.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017
True or false: Use of replica putty, as described in an ASTM standard, provides only a visual assessment of surface profile on concrete.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017
True or false: The EPA’s definition of a VOC is an “air pollutant known or suspected to cause cancer or other serious health effects, such as reproductive effects or birth defects, or adverse environmental effects.”

Monday, July 17, 2017
What is the common chemistry in all polysiloxane coating types?

Friday, July 14, 2017
True or false: Lydia Frenzel says that flash rust and rust back are two terms for the same phenomenon.

Thursday, July 13, 2017
True or false: Coatings for faying surfaces require the special performance property of edge retentiveness.


Today's Quiz

Advertisements
 
DeFelsko Corporation
 
PosiTector SHD Shore Hardness Durometer
 
PosiTector SHD measures the hardness of non-metallic materials. Features a measurement timer, auto ignore mode and internal memory. Shore A or D available.
 

 
KTA-Tator, Inc. - Corporate Office
 
KTA-Tator EH&S Services
 
• Ambient & Worker Exposure Air Monitoring
• Safety & Health Program Development
• Lead Paint Assessments
& Specifications
• Health Hazard & Jobsite Safety Assessments
Call 1-800-532-3633
 

 
Fischer Technology Inc.
 
Highly Repeatable Ultrasonic Wall Thickness Gauge
 
Detect corrosion by monitoring wall thickness with the compact UMP series from Fischer.
 

 
Mitsubishi Gas Chemical America
 
Performance Amine 1,3-BAC
 
A highly reactive cycloaliphatic diamine offering superior performance. Reasonable cost and curing efficacy makes it suitable for all types of epoxy resin applications.
 

 
SSPC: The Society for Protective Coatings
 
http://www.sspc.org/
 
Join SSPC and Enhance
Your Career !
 

 
Polygon
 
POLYGON - Temporary Humidity Control
 
We specialize in innovative climate control solutions for industrial painting, utilizing alternative energy sources and combining desiccants with heating or cooling.
 

 
Blastox/The TDJ Group, Inc.
 
Blastox® - One Step Lead Abatement
 
Sandblast additive delivered to jobsite pre-blended to eliminate hazardous abrasive wastes. Why mix, meter or apply at the job-site? Blast with ease and
Let your painters paint!
1(800)-252-7869
 

 
Absolute Equipment/Grand Rental Station
 
TIER 4 EQUIPMENT
 
We have Tier 4 Equipment including Air Compressors & Generators for Sale & Rent! Your job may now require Tier-4. www.absoluteequip.com or Call 412-931-6655.
 

 
HoldTight Solutions Inc.
 
NO FLASH RUST - NO CONTAMINANTS
 
Our HoldTight®102 salt remover & flash rust
preventer prevents flash
rust by removing surface contaminants. Contact us
for your nearest distributor.
(800) 319.8802 sales@holdtight.com
 

 
Sherwin-Williams
 
Sherwin-Williams Oil & Gas App
 
Our coatings and linings expertise available 24/7, allowing you to explore the best Sherwin-Williams solutions for oil refineries, shale drilling sites, and offshore. Android users
click here. Download today!
 

 
 
 

Technology Publishing Co., 1501 Reedsdale Street, Suite 2008, Pittsburgh, PA 15233

TEL 1-412-431-8300  • FAX  1-412-431-5428  •  EMAIL webmaster@paintsquare.com


The Technology Publishing Network

Durability + Design PaintSquare the Journal of Protective Coatings & Linings Paint BidTracker

 
EXPLORE:      JPCL   |   PaintSquare News   |   Interact   |   Buying Guides   |   Webinars   |   Resources   |   Classifieds
REGISTER AND SUBSCRIBE:      Free PaintSquare Registration   |   Subscribe to JPCL   |   Subscribe to PaintSquare News
MORE:      About PaintSquare.com   |   Privacy policy   |   Terms & conditions   |   Site Map   |   Search   |   Contact Us