PaintSquare.com
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on LinkedIn Like us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram Visit the TPC Store
Search the site

 

Advertisement

PaintSquare



Previous Quizzes


Wednesday, April 25, 2018
True or false: A recent NIOSH study concluded there is a definitive correlation between occupational noise exposure and heart disease.

Tuesday, April 24, 2018
True or false: Coal slag abrasive is mainly aluminum silicate.

Monday, April 23, 2018
True or false: A solvent with a low boiling point evaporates more slowly than one with a higher boiling point.

Friday, April 20, 2018
True or false: A rapid rise fire test is typically used to evaluate the performance of thin-film intumescents on commercial buildings.

Thursday, April 19, 2018
True or false: In a recent article, Lydia Frenzel said that both the waterjetting industry and the paint and coatings industry have been very supportive of waterjetting as a surface preparation activity.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018
What is another term for a coating with a potassium silicate binder?

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
True or false: NACE and SSPC were started in the same year.

Monday, April 16, 2018
True or false: Methyl methacrylate (MMA) resinous flooring systems do not cure at low temperatures.

Friday, April 13, 2018
What noted coating specialist famously said, “I do not advocate the specification of 'sniff tests' because I don’t know how to calibrate a nose”?

Thursday, April 12, 2018
True or false: The SSPC standard for ferrous metal abrasive is intended to be used for both new and recycled abrasive.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018
An SSPC protective coating specialist should be familiar with what topic area?

Tuesday, April 10, 2018
True or false: According to the Coatings Encyclopedic Dictionary, the term “industrial coatings” is synonymous with the term “industrial maintenance paints.”

Monday, April 9, 2018
True or false: There are several possible causes of non-osmotic blistering of coatings.

Friday, April 6, 2018
True or false: Coating solids (non-volatile portion of a coating) can be expressed both by weight percent and by volume percent.

Thursday, April 5, 2018
True or false: According to ASTM, coatings include, but are not limited to, paints, varnishes, sealers and stains.

Wednesday, April 4, 2018
What generic binder type is combined with epoxies to improve their UV-resistance, according to a recent JPCL article?

Tuesday, April 3, 2018
True or false: Aluminum oxide and garnet are sometimes recommended as appropriate abrasives for blast cleaning stainless steel.

Monday, April 2, 2018
What award winner at the recent SSPC conference in New Orleans on Jan. 15 said, “SSPC is my competitive advantage?"

Thursday, March 29, 2018
True or false: According to protective coating specialist Lee Wilson, increasing topcoat thickness when intermediate coat thickness is too low in order to achieve the specified total system thickness is not acceptable as good painting practice.

Wednesday, March 28, 2018
True or false: Crevice corrosion may occur between individual sheets of metal during shipment and storage of stacks or bundles.

Tuesday, March 27, 2018
True or false: In abrasive blasting work, 100-micron-sized dust particles are respirable and therefore dangerous to health.

Monday, March 26, 2018
True or false: According to noted coating authorities, wet adhesion is not one of the primary criteria for good corrosion resistance.

Friday, March 23, 2018
True or false: Acrylic resin is sometimes used to make polymer cement and polymer mortars and concretes.

Thursday, March 22, 2018
Solvents with negligible photochemical reactivity have what status?

Wednesday, March 21, 2018
True or false: The various cure mechanisms described in the ASTM classification of urethane coatings include moisture cure, heat cure, chemical cure, solvent evaporation and oxidative cure.

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
What causes crazing of a coating?

Monday, March 19, 2018
True or false: SSPC has a Qualification Procedure on installation of tank linings in the field.

Friday, March 16, 2018
True or false: The source of soluble salts migrating to the surface of a coating to create efflorescence can be either the coating itself or the substrate.

Thursday, March 15, 2018
True or false: Modified salt spray testing is described in an ASTM standard.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Which of the following entities has filed a lawsuit against OSHA over the issuance of its beryllium rule?

Tuesday, March 13, 2018
True or false: Heterogeneities in steel, such as in grain structure and composition, do not contribute to corrosion.

Monday, March 12, 2018
True or false: The SSPC CAS Interim Written Exam is now available in Spanish and Greek.

Friday, March 9, 2018
True or false: ISO offers a standard that gives durability grades of low, medium and high for paint systems in various environments and levels of surface preparation.

Thursday, March 8, 2018
What is the term used to describe blistering of paint films immersed in sea water caused by the force of an electrical potential gradient?

Wednesday, March 7, 2018
What is the conventional coating term used to describe flake pigments aligning with or floating near the surface of a coating?

Tuesday, March 6, 2018
True or false: Two-component polyurethanes used as protective coatings are thermosetting coatings.

Monday, March 5, 2018
What coating properties are assessed in a bend test?

Friday, March 2, 2018
What is another name for Ye Olde Paint Stone?

Thursday, March 1, 2018
True or false: Krebs units are used to express values derived from the Knoop hardness test.

Wednesday, February 28, 2018
True or false: Inorganic zinc pre-construction primers for shipbuilding normally have less zinc content than inorganic zinc primers applied after fabrication.

Tuesday, February 27, 2018
According to a recent PaintSquare Daily News article, what two states lead the nation in the number of deficient bridges needing repair?

Monday, February 26, 2018
What is the acronym for a robotic spray process to reline pipeline interiors?

Friday, February 23, 2018
True or false: According to Lydia Frenzel, the well-known industry expert on waterjetting, there is no distinction between flash rust and rust back.

Thursday, February 22, 2018
Victor Charles Nightingall is noted for his work developing what protective coating technology?

Wednesday, February 21, 2018
What is the term used to describe the development of small, knob-like mounds of corrosion products on the surface of a substrate?

Tuesday, February 20, 2018
True or false: A seal coat should not be applied over a thermal-sprayed zinc coating until oxidation occurs on the surface.

Friday, February 16, 2018
What force drives water through a coating film on metal to produce blisters?

Thursday, February 15, 2018
True or false: A polyaspartic is an organic/inorganic hybrid coating.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018
True or false: NIOSH conducts research on safety and health issues and provides technical assistance to OSHA.

Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Which one of the following agricultural materials is typically not used to create abrasives for blasting?


Today's Quiz

Advertisements
 
Mitsubishi Gas Chemical America
 
Performance Amine 1,3-BAC
 
A highly reactive cycloaliphatic diamine offering superior performance. Reasonable cost and curing efficacy makes it suitable for all types of epoxy resin applications.
 

 
Carboline Company
 
Carboline launches new website!
 
The completely revamped website, offers quick and easy access to essential product information and is now mobile-friendly.
 

 
SABRE Autonomous Solutions
 
Quality
 
The ALPHA1 provides a consistent finish day-in
day-out; job to job.
 

 
Tarps manufacturing, Inc.
 
QUALITY MADE IN AMERICA —Available near you!
 
CLICK to get a behind-the-scenes look at how Tarps Manufacturing makes the highest-quality tarps right here in the USA — available nationwide.
 

 
BASF
 
New resins from BASF will have metals loving water!
 
Excellent corrosion resistance, low VOC, high gloss, thin films www.basf.us/industrialcoatings dpsolutions@basf.com 800-231-7868
 

 
Jotun Paints Inc.
 
Jotun Jotachar 1709
 
Mesh-free passive fire protection epoxy designed to protect against hydrocarbon pool fire scenarios for up to four hours as defined in the ANSI/UL1709 standard.
 

 
Vector Technologies Ltd.
 
The Original Performance Proven Vacuum Solutions
 
VecLoader® 616 Double Dump, Continuous Vacuum, 170 HP w/ 2,400 CFM & 28” Hg. 33% More Efficient than traditional vacuum systems! Choose Vector for the most powerful and the most reliable trailer mounted vacuums in the industry! Email us at: inquiry@vector-vacuums.com or call us at: 800-832-4010
 

 
Fischer Technology Inc.
 
FISCHER Expands Corrosion Product Line
 
Rounding out Fischer’s extensive line of products for measuring protective coatings in the corrosion industry is the new ultrasonic wall thickness gauge UMP series.
 

 
Graco Inc.
 
Graco EcoQuip 2: Experience the Difference
 
While others claim their equipment is the same, none of them compare to Graco’s EcoQuip 2™ Vapor Abrasive® blasting line. Visit graco.com/ecoquip to learn more.
 

 
Bullard
 
Bullard Made in the USA
 
 

 
 
 

Technology Publishing Co., 1501 Reedsdale Street, Suite 2008, Pittsburgh, PA 15233

TEL 1-412-431-8300  • FAX  1-412-431-5428  •  EMAIL webmaster@paintsquare.com


The Technology Publishing Network

Durability + Design PaintSquare the Journal of Protective Coatings & Linings Paint BidTracker

 
EXPLORE:      JPCL   |   PaintSquare News   |   Interact   |   Buying Guides   |   Webinars   |   Resources   |   Classifieds
REGISTER AND SUBSCRIBE:      Free PaintSquare Registration   |   Subscribe to JPCL   |   Subscribe to PaintSquare News
MORE:      About PaintSquare.com   |   Privacy Policy   |   Terms & Conditions   |   Support   |   Site Map   |   Search   |   Contact Us